top of page

Kelly: When Art Speaks

I can remember specifically how I felt before applying to be an Art Speak intern. I was dubious. I was doubtful that I would ever be able to be the chosen four. Although that thought lingered in my mind, I still went for it and now I’m here.

The one thing that pushed me to try out for this amazing opportunity was learning more about Asian art and just being able to experience a new environment. I was always fond of Asian art, specifically Chinese and Japanese art. I loved the ancient artifacts that always had may delicate and intricate features. The beautiful illustrations of a certain scene really displayed how art was also used to create a tangible evidence of history.

Coming into this internship, I was welcomed by some really kind and fascinating people. Because of their openness, it allowed me to be comfortable and have fun during our meet up days. Ever since the internship started, I learned about many topics. I learned more about the other interns and learned about the steps a person had to take in order to create a museum exhibit. In addition, the exhibit must go through a formulated plan that would capture the audience and also bring meaning to what lies behind each art piece.

One of my most favorite exhibits was the Mother-of-Pearl. What captured my attention would always be the giant pebbles that were placed on top of a reflecting mirror. Each piece of abalone shell covered the entire pebble and created a luminous object that would always amaze me. The care and complexity of creating the pebbles just made me feel more drawn to art piece. Another exhibit I also enjoyed, is The Rama Epic. Because this exhibit was split into different galleries, the viewer is able to see in that character’s perspective and understand how they felt during the whole story. Another fun addition to this exhibit is the audio guide, which narrates in a story mode which draws the listeners to each picture and fully connect the story.

Objects in Mother-of-Pearl exhibit

If my friends or family asked what I would recommend to see at the museum, I would say visiting the second floor. In the second floor many Chinese, Japanese and Korean art are displayed, but I wouldn’t tell them to neglect the special exhibits or the third floor. The third floor contains art from Thailand, Cambodia and many other countries. It spans from sculptures to many interesting art pieces. Because of the internship, I learned more about the sculptures and which countries influences others to create the art they made.

Alas, being able to work at the museum has brought many great opportunities to find out more about other cultures and learn about the unique techniques used back then to convey a story. I’m excited for many more fun opportunities in the future!

bottom of page