top of page

Jade: Gary Ross-Pastrana

I really enjoy the contemporary works of the Filipino artist Gary-Ross Pastrana. He makes artwork in a very unique and modern style. In his work, he creates abstract images by choosing an object, deconstructing it, and distorting it until the original form is unrecognizable. The deconstruction of the object changes the meaning and function behind the original almost completely in order to reveal the hidden truth.

Usually, I am not as fond of contemporary or modern art styles as I am with Classical or Romantic styles. However, I love Pastrana’s work because the bold color schemes, the geometrical pattern, and the conceptual meaning behind the pieces. In particular, the Horizons work stands out to me because although they are distorted images formed to make a fake horizon, the visual appeal remains strong. Since I’ve always loved watching sunsets because they make me feel very nostalgic and grounded, the Horizons work really draws me in.


bottom of page