top of page

Helen: When Art Speaks

I was inspired by Prince's work today

So far I’ve enjoyed working at the Asian Art Museum. Every Sunday morning or Thursday evening that I arrive at work I enjoy walking around the galleries - Especially when the museum’s lights begin to dim and the doors close, the spaces becoming unoccupied and empty. I find this time the best time to observe art without noise or dilution - The silence and peace from everything else, both reflected in the environment at work as well as the pieces on display are what I look forward to every work day. I believe that museums help to cultivate a sense of zen, which is why I find work here rather relaxing.

One thing I’ve learned, especially with working in a museum, is that I often rush by exhibits, only glancing briefly at a plaque; Though the most enlightening experience is absorbing the entire piece proffered, contemplating its relevance as well as its aesthetic quantities. I believe that this slowed thought-process helps to develop a peaceful environment, and a better understanding of art and its relevancy as a whole.

As an Art Speak intern, exploring art isn’t entirely what I do - We often facilitate art activities with kids who visit the museum, helping to educate kids with art. One of my most memorable moments with helping kids at the museum was during Divali Day, where we made paper lanterns and diya lamps. Though I wouldn’t necessarily consider myself a visual artist, I enjoyed making colorful paper lanterns with kids that day - And though they were difficult to make, especially for me, at first, I quickly learned with the kids. So I consider my work symbiotic - I try to teach kids, and they teach me, too.

If I could show someone around the museum, I would begin in the exhibits surrounding Samsung Hall, then progress from the first floor to the highest before finally ending the visit in the special-exhibition. Right now, we have a special exhibition on The Rama Epic, focusing on the main characters of the Rama: Sita, the heroine, Rama, the hero, Hanuman, the ally and Ravana, the foe. I especially enjoy the dichotomy between all these aspects of the Ramayana and the different galleries dedicated to each character of the Rama Epic.

bottom of page