top of page

Jasmine: When Art Speaks


Since the beginning of my internship, I can truly say that my experience here has been very rewarding. I now have a much more extensive knowledge of Asian art and culture. In addition, I have the opportunity to work alongside and learn from other youths that share the same passion as me. I particularly enjoy our weekly activities with fellow interns, which has proved to be a time where we can share our knowledge and enthusiasm of the visual arts.

Recently, I was privileged to learn more about my Thai culture from The Rama Epic, one of the special exhibitions here at the Asian Art Museum. Going through the galleries, audio tour, and artist workshop, I came to realize how great the impact of “The Rama Epic” has in Thailand. It has been presented in every temple, even making its way to becoming a famous Thai children’s story.

Speaking about children, my internship program and I host all the Family Fun Days that take place on every first and third Sunday of the month. We welcome all families and everyone else to come and create special artwork with us based on the showing exhibition!

Currently, my favorite exhibition would have to be The Sculptural Turn - contemporary Japanese ceramics from the Kempner and Stein collection - happening from November 9, 2016 through June 4, 2017. Its minimal collection of beautiful ceramic pieces tell the story of the changing character of clay in Japan. I recommend anyone with an eye for abstract art to come and see our newest addition to contemporary Asian art! Each week we are finding new ways to engage more with our community and invite all to join us at the Asian Art Museum!

bottom of page