top of page

Christine: Reflecting on 2018

So far, this year has been one of my most transformative and productive years. It’s my senior year, and my class load is lighter than it’s ever been, leaving me with a lot more time to focus on things I care and am passionate about. At the same time that I’ve become more active in my own community, I’m seeing young people unite across the country demanding gun control in the wake of the Parkland shooting. This is an issue that has greatly affected me- already a skeptic, I’m questioning American values and our government more than ever. I’m not much of a resolution maker, or follower for that matter, but I have been taking active steps against things I believe are unjust- setting up voter registration drives within my community, organizing school wide assemblies against discrimination on campus, and I plan on speaking at the March For Our Lives rally to promote sensible gun control laws in America. In 2018, I’d like the trend of action within young people to continue. I want to see my own generation showing up to the polls at the midterm elections, protesting, and fighting for what they believe in.


bottom of page